When St Thomas was in the convent at Naples and was praying in the Church, there appeared to him Brother Romanus, whom he had left teaching at Paris. Brother Thomas said to him: “Welcome! Whence dost thou come?” But Romanus said to him: “I have passed from this life, and I am allowed to come to thee by reason of thy merits.” Then Brother Thomas, summoning up his courage, for he had been much disturbed by the sudden apparition, said to him: “If it be pleasing to God, I adjure you by God to answer my questions. First: How does it stand with me? and are my works pleasing to God?” And the other answered: “Thou art in a good state, and thy works are pleasing to God.”

Then the Master continued: “And what of thyself?” And Romanus answered: “I am in eternal life, but I was in Purgatory sixteen days because of some negligence of which I was guilty in the affair of a will which the Bishop of Paris entrusted to me for speedy execution; but I, through mine own fault, was tardy in executing it.”

Lastly S. Thomas asked: “What about that question we have so often discussed together: Do the habits we have acquired here abide with us when we are in our Fatherland?” But the other replied: “Brother Thomas, I see God, and you must ask me nought further on that question.” But Thomas at once said: “Since you see God, tell me whether you see Him with or without any intermediate image?” But Romanus replied: “As we have heard, so we have seen in the City of our God, and forthwith disappeared. But the Master remained astonished at that marvellous and unwonted apparition, and filled with joy at his favourable replies.

(from the Life by Bernard Gui, a witness at the trial of canonisation)

