Because of this:

ThisMakesMyHeartWeep

Or, more generally speaking, because their programme includes the abolition of Church Tax and Religious Education in state schools. Both would do the Church in Germany no end of good.

Not having been a Catholic when I was at school, I have no first-hand experience of RE lessons, but from all the accounts I have had both of RE lessons themselves, and of the ‘recruitment’ and training of future RE teachers (for some school forms, RE used to be a job guarantee, and much less hassle to study than ‘proper’ subjects like maths, science or languages), the situation seems to be grim indeed.

Moreover, the Church in Germany has too much money. There is probably enough in this topic for a really profound and insightful reflection, but due to restrictions of time and intellectual capacity, I will focus on the example depicted above: The plan for the renovation of a church I know and love. As background information, the church is an 18th cent. building in a region where most churches were built during the concrete-box-stile. Currently, the interior is very pleasant and prayerful in a down-to-earth, unspectacular sort of way: A proper sanctuary with altar steps; a 19th cent. Crucifixion group of average artistic value, with a tabernacle-like looking tabernacle at the foot of the cross; a post-VII lectern and people’s altar, but actually rather tastefully done; a small Marian chapel: somehow a place that feels like a proper church, which both I and several of my friends have liked from the first time entering it.

Now, however, it will be renovated.

I entirely agree that the walls could do with a new layer of paint (they are pink, originally, but now quite greyish). If there are ways to improve heat isolation without wrecking the place, I am also in favour of that. But why, oh why, would one want to rip out everything, at immense cost, to give the above? We are no longer in the 60s or 70s!

The majority of the parish feels more or less the same way as I do, so if they had to rely on our voluntary donations, I do not think they would get anywhere with this concept.

And that is just one, albeit a particularly awful example of how money is wasted. What a shame that Aelianus is right with his reminder to me that we are not to do evil so that good may come from it… I will have to comfort myself with the thought that German secularism will probably embrace the Communist position in this respect in the near future without my active collaboration.

