As Magdalena and I were walking in the lovely hills of England, we had a package of fudge biscuits with us for provisions. And I thought to myself, idly plodding along, that while these were lovely yet unavailable in Germany, how hard could it be to make some?

So, even though these days I am not that keen on baking unless I have to, for some reason, I actually started to search for inspirations on the web, and found these. Now, as they are called ‘cookies’ there, and we can’t be having with this here, and as I have some comments and changes, my own brilliant version below.

Take a whole package (250 g) of butter (soft, out of the fridge for a while) and mix it thoroughly with the equal amount (250 g) of sugar (recipe says brown sugar, I used half brown, half white). Just mix for a while, all these phrases as ‘beat foamy’ or ‘cream together’ just try to make you feel bad: I challenge you to get this stuff look creamy. Add two eggs and 2 table spoons of vanilla extract (if you are lazy, and live in a civilized country, just take two packages of vanilla sugar), and go on mixing for a bit.

Mix come 330 g, or so, of flour, 1 tea-spoon of baking powder, and a little bit of salt in another bowl. Than add the crucial ingredients: nuts and fudge. The original recipe says 100 g of pecan nuts (which are expensive). I used about 100 g of mixed nuts and almonds, chopped into smaller pieces (size depending on taste and diligence). Now the most important bit: Fudge. If you live in fudge-selling countries, take 170  g of it and chop into small pieces. If you live in Germany, take any toffee (Karamellbonbon) and spend ages unwrapping each of the pieces and trying to chop them into small pieces, give up and chop them into large pieces instead.

Having already switched on the oven and preheated it to 180 °C, mix flour mixture with butter mixture quickly, and put dough on a greased baking tray (better: a baking tray lined with baking paper): a blob of about 1 tablespoon per biscuit; it does not matter how misshapen the blob, just leave enough space around it – this rather dubiously textured dough will melt and flow sideways and rise in a most astounding fashion. Bake for about 12 min.

I was making these as a sort of experiment, but with the intention of giving some of them to a colleague who had done me a favour. Looking at the, let us say, strangly formed things I felt rather apologetic of inflicting them on him. But apparently, he hardly got any, as his family were devouring them. Same effect on other colleagues, and, though I say so myself: quite a challenge for my own self control, as, if you put them into an airtight container after they have cooled down, they appear to get even better over the next couple of weeks. Just do not add up the calories but tell yourself that butter at least, if from grazing cows, is immensely healthy for you – and enjoy.

THIS POST IS BROUGHT TO YOU AS A PART OF OUR INITIATIVE ‘MORE SHOE POSTS!‘, AIMING AT IMPROVING GENDER-BALANCE IN POSTED CONTENT

