{For anyone who missed this when it came out last year}

Cardinal Roger Mahony of Los Angeles shared with his blog-readers his experience in the papal conclave of March 2013. Here is the highlight:-

When we eventually arrived at the Sistine Chapel on March 12, I was still pondering two or three candidates.  However, when the first blank ballot was given to us, and when it was time to write down a name, something powerful–and strange–happened.

I picked up my pen to write, and I began.  However, my hand was being moved by some greater spiritual force.  The name on the ballot just happened.  I had not yet narrowed my thinking down to one name; but it was done for me.

I wrote it, then trembled deeply.  That’s when I knew the Holy Spirit was fully working within the Church of Jesus Christ, and that my role was not to “select” the new Successor to Peter, but to “write down” his name–a name that had been given to me.

