Just made my first mug of Bovril. I found a jar in the larder which was bought by mistake instead of Marmite.  I have drunk Bovril before at Football matches but never taken the grave step of making a mug in a domestic context. As there are no instructions on the jar itself I thought I ought to investigate the matter online before proceeding to put boiling water to gloop. Imagine my shock to discover that Bovril was invented by a British businessman as a hearty drink for the soldiers of Napoleon III during the Franco-Prussian War. So, in a certain sense its original function was to preserve the Papal States. (It was the defeat of Napoleon III at the battle of Sedan which led to Piedmont’s annexation of Rome in September 1870). Furthermore, true to its Papal origins, an advertising campaign of ‘the early twentieth century’ (Wikipedia) boasted that Bovril, like the Pope, possesses an infallible power! In the case of Bovril presumably the power is to keep you warm at football matches, as it doesn’t seem to be much use against Prussians. In the advert the Pope drinking the cup of Bovril is clearly Leo XIII. Now I feel a bit guilty that I prefer Marmite…

two_infallible_powers_pope_and_bovril.jpg